Posted on

Barry Hearn of The PDC talks about the World Series and coming Melbourne Event

"The fans are in for a treat"Barry Hearn expects fireworks in the newest World Series event as the PDC touches down in Melbourne, the sporting capital of the world!

Posted by Professional Darts Corporation on Wednesday, 16 August 2017


Posted on

NZ Herald Article On Auckland Darts Masters

Van Gerwen, Lewis to miss Auckland Darts Masters

7 Jul, 2017 11:00am

 2 minutes to read

Michael van Gerwen. Photo / AP

World number one Michael van Gerwen and fellow darts world championship winner Adrian Lewis won’t be making the trip to New Zealand for the Auckland Darts Masters.

Both darts greats will skip the event with both their partners due to give birth around the time of the event at Trusts Stadium in August.

Legend Phil “The Power” Taylor and defending champion Gary Anderson will make the event.

Two-time World Champion Anderson claimed the Auckland Darts Masters title in 2016 amongst three victories in the international World Series events last year.


The Scot retained his Dubai Darts Masters title in May with a stunning display in that event, and is hoping to ensure that history repeats itself at the Trusts Arena from August 11-13.

Anderson will also then compete in the inaugural Melbourne Darts Masters from August 18-20 and at the Perth Darts Masters from August 25-27, as the world’s top players continue their global tour.

“It was brilliant to win in Auckland last year and I’m really looking forward to getting back out there,” said Anderson. “It’s a fantastic place and we’ve been given a great welcome by everyone in the last couple of years.

“It’s exciting that we then go to Melbourne for the first time and return to Perth, and it should be three really good tournaments.

“I’ve had a great start to the World Series by winning in Dubai and I’d love it if I can win again in Auckland.”

Flamboyant world number three Peter Wright, the 2017 UK Open champion, five-time World Champion Raymond van Barneveld, seven-time TV event winner James Wade and Australia’s most successful ever player Simon Whitlock will also compete in all three events.